top of page

|Ep. 17| Real Shona

Updated: Jul 20, 2021


 

Season 2 of the podcast: Here is why the lights are still on.


When I first went solo on my journey to make podcasts, no one really knew what to say to me except, "good for you and all the best". They all said that in the best way ever because no one in my part of town is really keen on podcasts and there is very little information about them, It is the best sliced cake of the media world that is best kept for those that are eager to find it and consume it. I wont sugar coat it, you will die of diabetes if anybody else tells you a thing or two about podcasts.


It is the most growing media format and estimates for the next three years are staggering, no matter where you get them from. It was important that I get on the bandwagon and also pursue a format that I fell in love with over 17 years ago.


You will see that there is now an exclusive app that deals with audio only (Clubhouse) and the frantic attempt from every other social media platform to also offer audio only social media options as opposed to video, pictures and text (Twitter).


To be honest I have been loving it all. These platforms, still in Beta stages, have already attracted millions of users. It is a land grabbing exercise. The more you strategically place yourself in a favourable position, when the applications are in full swing, you will have a good head start and hopefully become one of the many leaders. In short, that's where I have been following and very closely I should say.



 

The First Episode with Real Shona.





I have been listening to a lot of music courtesy of the site New Music Zimbabwe and it has been helping me in my research on new material coming from the country. I depend on it to stay ahead and also get potential guests for my podcast.


The very first guest is an artist who captured me first by the name he goes by and subsequently with the music he made on his new EP called "Chibaba cheMbudzi"


He describes his music as "Urban" and does not conform to genres. "I don't like being limited and that's not me"


So as I tread on this lonesome journey of searching for the gold in Zimbabwe's artistry, I realise that I am more like these gifted individuals. We are all telling a story albeit in different forms and structure. They get to understand mine and I do theirs and together we are trying to convince the many out there that there is beauty in the African continent and it starts by listening, watching and subscribing to it.


Listen to Season 2 Episode 1 of the podcast with Real Shona and SUBSCRIBE to stay in the loop with your favourite podcast/er.


Click the pic to listen.




bottom of page