top of page

WhatImListening2 (07 October 20) : Lila Iké and Tarrus Riley

More Than an ExPerience with Lila's Debut


I have listened to very few lady reggae artists than men in my life. Lady Saw come into mind quickly as I recollect but ever since Mrs Mars asked me to listen to her I have been struggling to let her go out of my very sophisticated "New Music" Library.


This is her debut album and already she got tongues wagging. It's her striking resemblance to Estelle in her voice and sound that could have easily made me fall in love with her and I mean that not to undermine her worth as a true artist to look out for in the future.


It's an album called, ExPerience, as if this entire album was written for an ex-Lover or the majority of the songs about a love ending save for the last song on the album called Thy Will.


Top Pick

I've loved her entire album but if you had to make me chose, Stars Align, Forget Me and Thy Will are my top favourite.


Tarrus brings the Healing


At first listen, I underestimated this album. But because like every music out there, you need a second ear or listen. It would have been unfair to judge Mr Riley like that, after all, its no fluke that he is a huge reggae artist in Jamaica.


Healing is an album he released during the COVID 19 pandemic and attempts to heal a world ravaged from the pandemic. He does so easily, though not sticking to preaching about the pandemic only but also touching on many issues such as Family Tree importance, Healing from the Almighty during these quarantine moments, a song for and about immigrants and a bit of dancehall with Rvssian and Shenseea on a song call Lighter. Konshens appears on a song called Connect Again where Tarrus laments the closure of the world due to Covid saying, "I can't wait till the world opens up" "I cant wait till we touch and connect again"


Top Pick

"Remember Me" is my favourite, no doubt he brought all his A game on this one. It is a conscious vibe, brilliantly put together and is a prayer to the almighty to remember us lest we "lean on our own misunderstandings". This is a "killer tune!"



bottom of page