top of page

|Ep. 9| ASAPH: Kingpinn Incarnate?

Updated: Jul 20, 2021



If you can rap about your hood in its uniqueness and memories embedded in it (from love life to parties). Or about a street in your city enough to make it famous. The decay of politics and political figures and the hustle of the youths in a country where they make the majority. Or even the xenophobic mindsets of a people divided by past deeds and leaders; while topping it off with well-thought-of musical accompaniment ranging from Jazz, Blues to Trap and still have enough in your tank to present it in a manner that is not only beautiful but also thought provoking. Then I guess you are entitled to call yourself the King of Zim Hip Hop.


I came late to this party I agree and so I had to do a lot of catching up. Like many, I suffered from a disease called Nostalgia. Of not wanting to let go of the old music that spoke to me when I grew up and the artists who (when I am with my peers always agree on) made a lot of sense.


It can be very hard today, to tell a staunch Tupac Shakur or B.I.G fan that Kendrick Lemar is in the same league or could be better. Such has been predicament, until I started taking the time off to listen to new music filtering in online from around the world, made by Zimbabweans.


I found myself falling in love again because for a brief moment I was wallowing in some depressing nostalgia zone that only COVID 19 cured. Because now I had to find out more about what's outside my box, i realised there was so much more!


When Asaph came into my radar, I probably treated him just like any other ambitious rapper in the country that self inaugurates themselves on a weak and easy inflatable throne while rapping some prickly, cheap an uneducated bars (these artists are still out there).



But, I was wrong. There is a good number of rappers in Zimbabwe enough to keep our hopes high of keeping the legacy of Shingirai and KingPinn alive.


Watch here or listen to the podcast here and do tell me what you think about Asaph one the comments section below.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page